Mountain West Hockey League Divsions

MWHL Realigns Divisions

The Mountain West Hockey League will realign this season with the introduction of a third division.

In keeping with the league’s mountain theme, the new division will be called the San Bernardino Division. The realignment comes as the league expands with the addition of West Coast Seals.

The Seals will join NorCal Ice Raiders and Utah Spiders in the Sierra Division. Breckenridge Vipers, Pikes Peak Vigilantes, and Vail Yeti will remain as the Rocky Division. Arizona Outlaws, Las Vegas Cavalry, Orange County Checkers, and San Diego Skates will form the new San Bernardino Division.

With three divisions, the MWHL Cup Playoff format will also be revised. The three division champions will earn semi final berths. The second place team with the best record (points percentage) will round out the foursome. The division winner with the best record will face the second place team in a semi final series. The other two division winners will meet in the other semi final series. The teams with the best regular season records will have home ice advantage.

The winners of the semi final series will meet in the MWHL Cup Finals in Las Vegas.